i8

Pro Tools | S3

For the past few days, I’ve been researching the best way to connect my synthesizer and monitors to my iMac. I’ve also looked for a control surface that I could use for doing some mixing. Eventually, I’ve decided to go for the newly-released Avid Pro Tools | S3, which combines a 16-channel control surface and a 4×6 audio interface. It only supports 24-bit analog-to-digital conversion at 96Khz, but it should be plenty enough to get started with. Later on, I will add the Apogee Symphony I/O, but only when I have a first prototype for the ISHIZENO i8. In the meantime, I will use the S3 to learn more about mixing, microphone pre-amplification, and digital plug-ins, using Pro Tools as first DAW.

S3

Standard

Leave a Reply

