less.best

Need vs. Want

In the questions before you buy, the first two are:

  • Do I really need this object?
  • Do I really want this object?

These are two very important questions to ask, and they might lead to different answers. Ideally, you would like any new object added to your inventory to be both something that you need and that you want. By need, I mean an object that addresses an important practical purpose. By want, I mean an object that you desire, even though it might be totally useless. For example, I need a toothbrush, and I want a miner’s lamp.

Sometimes, you need an object but do not really want it. For example, I need toothpaste, but I wish that I did not have to carry it when traveling. Similarly, I really want a drone, but I do not really need one. The former is a necessity, the latter is a luxury. One thing to keep in mind is that both are really important. Of course, necessities should take priority over luxuries, but luxuries are what make the Ghalimi scale so attractive, because it allows one to afford them by focusing one’s limited financial resources on less items. Luxuries are the spice of a consumer’s life, and the Ghalimi scale does not oppose consumption, it opposes consumerism.

That being said, it is always best to both need and want an object, and one of the benefits of adopting the Ghalimi scale is to maximize the chances that your objects will qualify as both necessities and luxuries, in a win-win kind of way.

Là, tout n’est qu’ordre et beauté,
Luxe, calme et volupté.

Standard

Leave a Reply

